The Fort Collins Recreation Commission, a non-profit charitable organization, was formally organized in January 1937. This Commission remained in service until 1966, when the City of Fort Collins took over recreation responsibilities (and combined it with Park Maintenance).
We recently received a donation from City Parks and Recreation, and it contains lots of Commission-era reports and documents, including a few scrapbooks. One of these (from the 1940s) has a whimsical cover that we all loved.
It looks like that cover artist might have also painted this page, nestled within the same scrapbook: a hand-drawn list of officers and directors for the year 1946.
The original budget for the Commission came from the United Fund – only $1,400 donated annually, though the amount increased a bit in the 1950s. Additional financial support was provided by the Elks Club, Lions Club, Junior Chamber of Commerce, Community Chest, Kiwanis Club, Rotary Club, the School Board of Education, and other local service organizations. Until 1961, recreation programs were supervised by a part-time Recreation Director.